Massage Therapist Training in Florida

To apply for a Florida massage therapist license you must complete 500 hours of training at an approved massage therapy school in Florida and also pass one of the accepted exams.

Florida recognizes all of the major national exams (since 2009), which includes the exams from the NCBTMB (NESL/NCETM/NCETMB) and the FSMTB (MBLEx).

One unique Florida requirement is that as soon as you receive your license you must be able to show documented amounts of the following continuing education classes:

  • 1 hour of an HIV/AIDS course
  • 2 hours – Related to medical error prevention
  • 10 hours – Massage Therapy laws and rules in the state of Florida

License Maintenance

In order to retain your license you must complete 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years (before the license expires), and also complete an HIV/AIDS course(at least one hour) on top of that.  This requirement is further broken up into the following minimum requirements:

  • 2 hours – Related to medical error prevention
  • 2 hours – Florida laws and rules related to the Massage Therapy Act
  • 2 hours- Professional Ethics
  • 12 hours – Electives which are taken in-class that relate to massage therapy techniques

Associated Fees

  • NCETM/ NCETMB: $225.00
  • MBLex: $195.00
  • License: $205.00
  • License renewal: $155.00